Cristo Rey High School Boston

Academics » Academic Course Work

Academic Course Work

Academic Course Work

 

The academic program at Cristo Rey Boston High School focuses on providing a strong foundation in English, Math, Science, History, Religion and World Language. The normal course load for a student at Cristo Rey Boston High School includes five major subjects including two double block courses each year and participation in the Corporate Work Study Program. 

Upperclassmen are able to choose from various electives and are required to take at least one Advanced Placement course.  All seniors must take either AP Calculus AB, AP Drawing, or AP U.S. Government and Politics, with the option to take additional AP classes. The AP classes offered at Cristo Rey Boston include AP Calculus, AP Drawing, AP U.S. Government and Politics, AP Spanish Language, AP Biology and AP English Language Composition.

CRISTO REY BOSTON COURSE SEQUENCE

Freshman Year

Algebra I or Algebra II
Physics
English 9
Sacred Scriptures
Art I (½ year)
Spanish 9 (½ year)
Points of View (targeted reading program for selected students)

Sophomore Year

Geometry
Biology
English 10
Modern World History
Spanish 10 or Pre-AP Spanish

Junior Year

Algebra II or Pre-Calculus
Chemistry
American Lit. & History
World Religions
Spanish 11 (½ year) or AP Spanish (full year)
Advanced Art (½ year)

Senior Year

AP Calculus AB, Pre-Calculus or Financial Algebra
Environmental Science or AP Biology
English Language Composition or AP English Language Composition
Ethics
History of Human Thought (elective)
AP Drawing (elective)
AP U.S. Government and Politics (elective)


Cristo Rey Boston Academic Staff

Mrs. Ana Carolina Brito
Dean of Curriculum and Instruction
cbrito@cristoreyboston.org

Mrs. Meghan Karasin
Dean of Academic Resources
mkarasin@cristoreyboston.org

Ms. Annemarie Grimaldi
English Department Chair
agrimaldi@cristoreyboston.org

Mr. Derek Scott
Humanities Department Chair
dscott@cristoreyboston.org

Ms. Christina Searby
Math Department Chair
csearby@cristoreyboston.org

Mr. David Paskind
Science Department Chair
dpaskind@cristoreyboston.org